The blog has moved

The blog has moved, the new address is

Running Oracle BPM 12c on AWS EC2

In this post, I will show how to create an AWS EC2 Instance with an Oracle BPM 12c Quickstart Domain created. And I will use previous post for related tasks.

Lets see how to achieve this and make this process reusable. These are the steps:

  • Create an AWS EC2 instance (with Vagrant)
  • Connect to an NFS instance to get the installer (with Chef)
  • Install Oracle BPM 12c Quickstart and create a Domain (with Chef)

Read more…

A Chef Cookbook for Oracle Fusion Middleware 12c

Provisioning tools have change the way we create software environments: How much time we spend installing OS, databases, configuring platforms, applications? Now you can translate this steps into code, getting the software development benefits and challenges into infrastructure: versioning, reuse, continuous improvement.

In this post, I will show you how to provision Oracle SOA Suite 12c using a Chef cookbook that I created and shared it on Chef Supermarket. Read more…

Booting Oracle WebLogic

This post is related to our presentations at Oracle OpenWorld 2014 and UKOUG Tech 14. All code/configuration used during the presentations are available here.

The OOW presentation as a PDF file – CON3633_Sysco_Booting_Weblogic
The Tech 14 presentation as a PDF file – Sysco_Booting_Weblogic
See also my article in OTech Magazine

To start and stop AdminServer and the managed servers, we use a Jython (Python) script. It is on purpose made simple, but on production systems there should be more error handling, and also more efficient connection handling (i.e., check if there is a connection to NodeManager and/or AdminServer and reuse the connection if there is one active). Instead of calling the script below once for each server that we want to start, this script and the script could be changed to give a list of servers to start, not just one and one as it is now.

Full path for (under wlserver/common/bin) and must be given, unless they are in $PATH

adminUrl must point to the AdminServer (often a VIP address) while nmHost points to the local NodeManager.

Before running this command (deprecated in 12c, but still works in 12.1.3), you must source for the domain you are using.

Encrypt username and password (11g)

To run this command, you must start WLST in interactive mode. First you have to source, then start WLST

Encrypt username and password (12c)

This is not based on the script from the 12c documentation (  ). One important difference is that this script starts NodeManager with user oracle, while the script in the documentation starts NodeManager as root, which is not recommended.


The weblogic scripts call the when the server starts, and when the server stops.


For both the nodemanager and the weblogic scripts, they must be made runable (chmod 0755) and activated (chkconfig --add) before they will be used next time the server starts or stops.

Oracle Certifications

In Sysco we are currently focusing on certifications and spezialization. With the latest approvals, we now are specialized in:

  • MySQL 5
  • Oracle Database 11g
  • Oracle Enterprise Manager 12c
  • Oracle Linux 6
  • Oracle WebLogic Server 12c
  • Oracle Exalogic Elastic Cloud
  • Oil and Gas

I have looked through the different certifications we have that are counting for specializations – that means that all the 10g or older certifications do not count. We now do have certified people on:

  • Oracle Application Grid 11g Certified Implementation Specialist
  • Oracle Business Intelligence Foundation Suite 11g Certified Implementation Specialist
  • Oracle Certified Associate, MySQL 5
  • Oracle Certified Expert, Oracle Real Application Clusters 11g and Grid Infrastructure Administrator
  • Oracle Database 11g Administrator Certified Associate
  • Oracle Database 11g Administrator Certified Professional
  • Oracle Database 11g Administrator Certified Master
  • Oracle Enterprise Manager 12c Certified Implementation Specialist
  • Oracle Exalogic Elastic Cloud 2014 Certified Implementation Specialist
  • Oracle IT Architecture Release 3 Certified Architecture Specialist
  • Oracle IT Architecture SOA 2013 Certified Architecture Specialist
  • Oracle Linux 6 Certified Implementation Specialist
  • Oracle Linux Certified Implementation Specialist
  • Oracle Service Oriented Architecture Infrastructure Implementation Certified Expert
  • Oracle Unified Business Process Management Suite 11g Certified Implementation Specialist
  • Oracle VM 3.0 for x86 Certified Implementation Specialist
  • Oracle WebCenter Content 11g Certified Implementation Specialist
  • Oracle WebLogic Server 12c Certified Implementation Specialist

There is one thing I can promise, and that the two lists will grow.